purple wool tie skirt

Last winter, my mom, sister and I went fabric shopping. My mom and I love to make clothes, my sister loves to wear them. When we walked by this fabric, my sister and I loved the fabric immediately and for only 5 euro a metre it was a bargain.
Mine is finished, my sisters is still waiting for the first fit. It’s getting cold again, so it would be nice for her to wear a nice warm skirt too.

MSW-271013012

I’m glad with the skirt, it’s warm, neat and it fits well.
It was an easy and fast project. Along the way I made some changes. 
I cut the pockets, but decided to omit the extras. It is too bulky in this fabric.
I sewed it with a lining, to make the dress fit better and used an invisible zipper.

MSW-271013013

I wouldn’t do anything different. I like the skirt the way it is. I hope to finish my sisters skirt soon, I am curious how it looks on her. Same fabric, different figure, style and pattern. I’ll make a picture of her version.

Little details
Fabric: purple wool from the market
Pattern: Burda mini skirt 08/2012
First worn: spring 2013
Wear again: Yes!
Total Cost: < €5,-

